The Red Eye Flight

*Spoiler* Third Man Records Announces Record Club Batch #2 Releases

Posted in dead weather, the white stripes, third man records, vinyl by huckd on October 4, 2009

On Sept. 30, Third Man Records made a post on their “vault” page announcing the release¬† of their next round of limited-edition vinyl albums and goodies.

The meat of the release is a 2008 Raconteurs performance recorded in London, which is pressed to two 180-gram vinyl. Also being included in the package is a 7″ White Stripes single of¬† alternate takes of”Let’s Shake Hands” and “Look Me Over Closely.” “Let’s Shake Hands” was the first 7″ single released by the Detroit duo back in March 1998 during a limited pressing of 1,000 red-clear vinyl. There were subsequent 1,000-copy pressings in 2002 (black vinyl) and 2008 (with stenciled cover art by original artist Dion Fischer.)

The White Stripes: "Let's Shake Hands" debut 7" (1998, Italy Records)

The White Stripes: "Let's Shake Hands" debut 7" (1998, Italy Records)

Lastly, the second installment package will include a Rob Jones-designed Dead Weather screen print. Also to the appeasement of many fans, Third Man Records will be overhauling their shipping practices after many fans complained of bent records from round one.

Your turntable still lives on.


Third Man Records/Icky Thump in Mono

Posted in dead weather, the white stripes, third man records, vinyl by huckd on September 9, 2009


The vinyl Gods have spoken: Icky Thump mixed in mono arrived in my mail box today–and what a treat Jack White III has given all those devotees who signed up for this Third Man Records platinum “record club.”

The initial offering also came with an exclusive “From the Vault” Dead Weather “Forever My Queen”/”Outside” 7″, as well as a Third Man Records t-shirt.

Icky Thump (except for a few of the raw power-blues tunes) is probably my least favorite of White Stripes albums, but side four on vinyl album sounds stellar, especially the acoustics of “Effect and Cause.”

In the same vain as the Sub-Pop Records singles club, copies of this mono mix are already showing up on ebay for $50 and upwards. The membership cost $60 for 3 months worth of exclusive vinyl goodies.

Like the company slogan says, “Your turntable is not Dead.”


A1 Icky Thump (4:14)
A2 You Don’t Know What Love Is (You Just Do As Your Told) (3:54)
A3 300 M.P.H. Torrential Outpour Blues (5:28)
B1 Conquest (2:48)
B2 Bone Broke (3:14)
B3 Prickly Thorn, But Sweetly Worn (3:05)
B4 St. Andrew (This Battle Is In The Air) (1:49)
C1 Little Cream Soda (3:45)
C2 Rag And Bone (3:48)
C3 I’m Slowly Turning Into You (4:34)
D1 A Martyr For My Love For You (4:19)
D2 Catch Hell Blues (4:18)
D3 Effect And Cause (3:00)