The Red Eye Flight

New Bob Dylan album in April

Posted in blues, bob dylan by huckd on March 5, 2009

dylannewEver since Bob Dylan’s atmospheric and heart-drenched 1997 album “Time out of Mind,” the timeless folk-poet has released a run of albums that have tipped a high point in his long career. David Fricke of Rolling Stone reports that Dylan will be releasing a follow-up to “Modern Times” some time in “late April” that sounds like another solid effort from Jack Frost productions.

A few of the song titles include: “My Wife’s Hometown,” “It’s All Good,” “Beyond Here Lies Nothin,” “If You Ever Go to Houston,”and “This Dream of You.” Topics include the national crisis (“State gone broke, the county’s dry/Don’t be lookin’ at me with that evil eye”) and of course, heartbreak.

Fricke writes that the album has a “live-in-the-studio” feel like that of “Modern Times” and “Love and Theft,” contains hot-blues-jumps, plenty of accordion (via Los Lobos member David Hidalgo), gritty-country tunes and best of all: “has a seductive border-cafe feel.”

Like some of his most memorable recent songs, Dylan takes some of the best elements of Americana and fuses that into one timeless ballad that name drops intellectuals and obscure country and blues artists. Looks like he’ll do it again with “I Feel A Change Comin’ On”: “I’m listening to Billy Joe Shaver/And I’m reading James Joyce/Some people tell me I got the blood of the land in my voice.” The rhythmic quality of the words has a similar feel to his “Time Out of Mind” album anthem closer “Highlands”: “I’m listening to Neil Young, I gotta turn up the sound/Someone’s always yelling turn it down/Feel like I’m drifting/Drifting from scene the scene/I’m wondering what in the devil could it all possibly mean?”

Tagged with: , ,

Derek & the Dominoes feat. Duane Allman Live 1970

Posted in blues, duane allman, live music by huckd on February 7, 2009


Derek and the Dominoes featuring Duane Allman: Live At Curtis Hixon Hall, Tampa, Fl. December 1, 1970
Legendary concert remastered
Currently this version is out of circulation.

Eric Clapton: Vocals, Electric Guitar
Duane Allman: Slide and Electric Guitar (1970-12-01)
Bobby Whitlock: Keyboards, Vocals
Carl Radle: Bass
Jim Gordon: Drums

Disc 1:
1. Layla
2. Got To Get Better In A Little While
3. Key To The Highway
4. Why Does Love Got To Be So Sad?

Disc 2:
1. Blues Power
2. Have You Ever Loved A Woman?
3. Battle Of Red Wine
4. Let It Rain

Download here

Chess Classics

Posted in blues by huckd on February 3, 2009


1. Wade in the Water – Ramsey Lewis Trio
2. Liberation Conversation – Marlena Shaw
3. Gun Slinger – Bo Diddley
4. Night Beat – Chuck Berry
5. I Am the Black Gold of the Sun – Rotary Connection
6. Tom Cat – Muddy Waters
7. Spoonful – Howlin’ Wolf
8. Hi-Heel Sneakers – Tommy Tucker
9. Fattening Frogs for Snakes – Sonny Boy Williamson II
10. Voice Your Choice – The Radiants
11. I Surrender – Fontella Bass
12. Ordinary Joe – Terry Callier
13. I’d Rather Go Blind – Etta James
14. I Had A Talk With My Man Last Night – Mitty Collier
15. You Left the Water Running -Maurice & Mac

192kbps (VBR) >>> Download

Tagged with:

Desperate Man Blues, Part 1

Posted in blues, Uncategorized by huckd on January 31, 2009

Joe Bussard, a vinyl collector of blues and American folk music, talks about jumpin’ creeks to find treasure troves of long lost 78s in run down houses. Watch part 1, presented by here.